Playing in water – the best laid plans…

Nope, no baby yet.  Although I scared the pants off of Nerddad last night with a rousing game of “is it a tummy bug or is it labor”… *grin*. (Spoiler alert – tummy bug.  Blech.)  Keeping things interesting around here, that’s my major function.

So it’s FINALLY warm enough here to get outside and play for real.  I mean, really Nature?  SNOW in MAY? South of the Mason-Dixon?  Vom. It.

But this week was gor-GEOUS, so after helping our AWESOME babysitter construct baby furniture:

So SERIOUS. And So SCARY with a real screwdriver.  Who's idea was that, anyway?

So SERIOUS. And so SCARY with a real screwdriver. Who’s idea was that, anyway?

The Little Scientist and I raided the $5 and under toy aisle for water toys.  Bags of toys later, we set up shop at home…. And proceeded to play with our favorite rocks.  For an hour.  Quite happily.  So I’ll stash the bags away for another sunny day 🙂

water1 water2 water3

Although I do have to admit, we pulled the Nemo water cannon out for a little while, and the peals of laughter over the bubbles (aka Nemo toot-toots) were quite funny.  Ah, potty humor.  NOW we’re in my wheelhouse, little man.

Not to be deterred, after nap (and yes, that’s a THIRD outfit for the day.  Don’t judge.) I was determined to try to make these sponge balls.  I got as far as cutting up my sponges, and, well…

water4 water5

So this week’s lesson, following the last one about slowing down to toddler speed, is about child-led activities.  Because sometimes a rock is the BEST toy, and sometimes the craft project gets derailed in the middle for a building project – and that’s ok too.

water6

Gratuitous shot of nerddad and LS – because *d’awwwww*!!

The #iPPP gals – they’re awesome. You’ll laugh. You’ll cry. Go. Read. Now.

GFunkified
4 Comments on “Playing in water – the best laid plans…”

  1. Playing with water is the best – at any age. My kids (11 and 15) still love it!
    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Well, I have only decided to not hold grudges anymore, but I have not figured out how to do it… I’m working on it and will let you know as soon as I find out!

    • I also wish we could figure out how to silence that running internal monologue of things-I-screwed-up-in-the-past… (Assuming that’s not just me *blush*) Science, get on that!

  2. gfunkified says:

    Seriously, the rocks. They’re, like, magical toys, and so cheap! Ha! And isn’t the is-it-labor game so much fun?? Except for stomach bugs. That is no good AT ALL.

    • Yeah… That egg salad I had for lunch was SUSPECT dude. Blech. And we’ve been on the rocks for a YEAR now… Sounds like THAT obsession won’t go away for a while 😉


Leave a Reply

