More colors! And shapes! And taping construction paper to the floor!

I think I’m ready to admit I have a problem. *Deep breath* I’m Megan, and I tape construction paper to EVERYTHING.

*Exhale*

Ok, now that we’ve gotten that out of the way… More colors and shapes!  (Pretty sure I got both of these activities from www.toddlertoddler.com… I think.  *blush* Stupid swiss cheese brain.

Activity one – stepping on shapes

The Little Scientist is getting pretty good at identifying the rainbow colors + black / white / brown, but shapes still need practice.  Particularly as his AWESOME shape magnets make good chew toys in addition to being sexy magnets.

So me and my trusty tape & construction paper got to work.  The goal is to eventually build up to some sort of twister-style game (calling out body parts and shapes), but right now we’re just standing on named shapes.

Look! Paper & tape! SURPRISE!

The RECTANGLE, LS, step on the RECTANGLE!!! *hovering foot*

oh. THIS one. Why didn’t you SAY so, mom?

Drumming on the circle. Shortly after this picture the drumming involved large sticks. Eek.

Activity two – connect-the-dots

I include this one so you can see what a mess some of my activity ideas become.  For real.  The idea is to work on a proto-connect-the-dots activity, and match giant colored dots.  In retrospect, “matching” is a little beyond our purview right now.  LS can tell you if two things YOU identify are “partners” or “matches”, but has a hard time finding them himself.  Combine that with a deep and abiding obsession with pens and pencils, and, well… I’ll let you judge:

Fun?  Oh, yeah.  Matching?  Not yet… We’ll get there 🙂

6 Comments on “More colors! And shapes! And taping construction paper to the floor!”

  1. That is the single best connect the dots I have ever seen.

  2. Ann says:

    These are great activities! I am definitely going to try both with my son. He is a little older so I will used harder shapes maybe.

  3. Alma says:

    This is a great activity! Great ideas for my toddler too!


Leave a Reply

