So I don’t like zoos. In theory.

I really feel like I’m not supposed to like zoos.  The cages / the animals / the hoards of sweaty people / the rudeness that comes with hoards of sweaty people / the overpriced food / the gift shop / etc.

BUT.  THe Little Scientist and I took his first out-of-utero zoo trip this week.

And there was this:
Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Followed by this:
Image

And then this (Thank you nice donkey. For not biting or kicking or any of those mean things.):
Image

And finally, the kicker was when there was this.  (Chimpanzees, in case you were wondering.)
Image

So yeah.  I kinda like zoos.  Sorry.

5 Comments on “So I don’t like zoos. In theory.”

  1. Laurie says:

    but sometimes this is the only way for children to see animals up close–the look of wonder at chimpanzees is priceless!

  2. I used to dislike zoos until I had a kid. I never liked the idea of caging up animals even though I recognized that that’s a way to study them or bring exposure to their needs. But they were still caged! Couldn’t the zoologists go to the animals a la Jane Goodall? Anyway, now I think they’re kinda cool but how else is my kid going to see a real-live giraffe but at a zoo? 🙂

    • Exactly!! I guess I feel better about the ones where the animals can get away from the people if they want to… or maybe I’m just parsing things to make myself feel better. Whichever – we had an AWESOME time. AWESOME.

  3. Ann says:

    I have a love hate with zoos too! I love going and am always fascinated but also always feel a little bad. I think it’s part of the reason I don’t have pets.

    • Right?!?! We had cats, but they were elderly & the LS gave them an anxiety disorder. (Not exaggerating. That was the clinical diagnosis!) So they went to live with g’ma & g’pa instead.


Leave a Reply

