So maybe fractions ARE too much for the 14 month old…

…but it’s worth a try!!  Never too early to start introducing fractions!!

Thus the conversation that leads to the idea that leads to the blog.  (Kinda like “If You Give A Mouse A Cookie” but dorkier.)  See, I like math.  Lots and lots.  And I think other people should too – particularly kids.  But this means that I’m saying that I want a whole lot of moms and dads and nannies and babysitters and siblings to buy into the whole “math is AWESOME” thing.

I mean, I don’t want to be the only one trying to explain to my toddler why 1/4 is smaller than 1/2, even though 4 is bigger than 2.  (It’s because the number on the bottom of the fraction tells you how many pieces you cut the pizza into, and the number on the top tells you how many pieces you ate.  So 1/4 means you’re eating 1 piece when you cut the pizza into 4 pieces.  1/2 means you’re eating 1 piece, but this time you only cut the pizza into 2 pieces.  Aaaaaand this is where my husband walked in on the explanation.)

So I thought maybe I could work on a little corner of the interwebs where I collect neat ideas for kid math activities, and explanations of cool math ideas, and maybe sneak a little science in there too.  I’m pretty intimidated, because I read a lot of really funny & well-written blogs (big and little), and because there are other math moms out there that have such cool sites.  But if the Pythagoras had thought that way, we wouldn’t have the irrational numbers, right? (Except it wasn’t the actual person Pythagoras, per se.  And the Arabs had probably come up with irrational numbers eons before the Greeks.  But you get my point…)  So here goes.

All a long-winded way of saying: thanks for stopping by! Please come visit again!

3 Comments on “So maybe fractions ARE too much for the 14 month old…”

  1. Laurie says:

    Now this is fun! Looking forward to reading this!

  2. […] out her very first post, written just this past May. I agree with her…I think math should be fun for kids. All kids, […]


Leave a Reply

