FOOOOOD!! (aka – she blogged twice in a week?!?!)

I love food.  LOVE.  Not in a foodie “ugh!  You should have used the WHITE truffle oil, you barbarian.” way, but in a “GET IN MAH BELLEH!!” way.

In our wild and crazy days Nerddad and I would take vacations, staying in cheap motels and seeing free attractions so we could save all our pennies for expensive food.  Omnomnom.

So a little over a year ago, when I turned up with celiac disease, it was irrationally hard.  Suddenly grocery shopping was overwhelming.  Cooking wasn’t as intuitive or spontaneous anymore (and I fancy myself a decent cook).  And I *shudder* became THAT person when we ate out.  The special-order-sauce-on-the-side-what-EXACTLY-is-in-this person.

But it eventually was okay.  Shopping got easier, cooking got easier, I got better at deciphering menus and knowing what and where I could generally eat.

Fast-forward to a few weeks ago.  Right around 2 weeks old, baby girl went from normal baby to Colicky McScreampants.  For HOURS.  Every day.  Apparently “colic” is defined as 3 hours of inconsolable screaming, 3 nights or more a week.  Hell, sometimes we were hitting that mark before BREAKFAST.  So, per Dr. Google’s recommendations, I cut out dairy and soy.  And in a matter of days she was back to her old self.

Ummmm – what?  So now I’m gluten, dairy and soy free?  Oof.

Then I had peanut butter for breakfast.  And she broke out in hives.

HOLY CRAP.

Pro tip: if you find yourself googling “anaphylaxis in newborns”, make an appointment with the pediatrician.  Stat.

Our awesome AWESOME pediatrician.  He took me seriously, believed what I said I saw and experienced, and said we were on the right track.  That it was too early to test baby girl for actual allergies (all her antibodies are still really MY antibodies), but it sounded like we had a dairy & nut problem on our hands.

Not an allergy – she’ll probably outgrow the dairy bit, and might outgrow the tree nut bit.

So.

While I nurse, I’m gluten, soy, dairy, and tree nut free.  *overwhelmed* In a few months I can try introducing dairy again, but tree nuts are verbotin until she’s 2.

I tried to go grocery shopping yesterday, and texted a few friends that it felt like all I could buy was meat and produce.  Turns out I’m basically Paleo now, with a swap of rice and corn for nuts.

This should be interesting.  Manageable, but interesting.

(And don’t get me STARTED on the fact that baby girl reacts to my ONE morning cup of coffee.  I’m still going through the stages of grief on THAT one.)

If you have any recipes / tips / experiences – I’m all ears.  Seriously.

And look – cute picture!!  Kids!!

Image


12 Comments on “FOOOOOD!! (aka – she blogged twice in a week?!?!)”

  1. twisterfish says:

    Peanuts aren’t tree nuts, but I can see why the doctor would tell you to stay away from both, due to cross contamination. Be careful and read every single label every single time — so many items are made “in a factory that produces nuts” and many change without notice.

    It’s hard having to cut out so many foods. With my daughter I ate chicken and rice, and ONLY chicken and rice, for about 6 months. That’s all she could handle while I was feeding her. Now, as a teen, she’s super picky, but no food allergies. My sons both have allergies, and my oldest did grow out of the ones he had which started as a toddler. We found out when he was 5 that my youngest has a severe tree nut allergy and the doctor says it’s here for good. I’ve heard if the allergies start when they are older (3+) they won’t outgrow them. So this theory may not be true for everyone, but it was for my two boys.

    • Oof. So much to process! I got freaked out by all the labels, just bought a cart full of produce & meat. Figured I’ll work on it a little at a time.

      Glad to know other folks have been here before!!

  2. Ali says:

    Argh I feel for you I have the same issues with food and my son comes close behind ( he can eat more) I’m happy to share some recipes with you if you are interested Would love to hear what you have too Lmk

    Sent from thealikim

    • Oh, would love an links or book titles you could pass along! Definitely feel like we were just thrown in the deep end and told to swim on this one… Right now I’m just stalking Paleo blogs and Pinterest boards…

  3. PragmaticMom says:

    I found that I had to avoid onions, garlic and chocolate when I was nursing. It made my kids fussy and colic-y. And… strangely these foods with enzyme breaking down properities helped: kiwis, pineapple and strawberries. If I ate those, my babies seemed to digest better and much less insane screaming. Onions were the worst … oh my the day I had French Onion Soup was just not worth paying the price.

  4. K says:

    Oh my goodness–SO. MUCH. to figure out food-wise. I hope it becomes easier soon.

  5. twisterfish says:

    It’s hard to find baking chocolate that is nut free. We love this brand: http://www.enjoylifefoods.com/chocolate-for-baking/mini-chips/

  6. ACK! I’m so sorry. First of all, I didn’t know you had celiac. I feel your pain (not because I have it, but because the littlest girl does, you know, and I’m intolerant). And then having to cut so much more out while you’re nursing. Ugh. Why does the healthy, better thing for baby have to be so hard for mama sometimes?!

    • The kick in the ass? A month in and I’ve NEVER felt so healthy. Full of energy, good digestion, losing postpartum weight like crazy, migraines SO much easier to handle. It’s like eating right affects your health or something!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 453 other followers