Chore time!!

Housekeeping – not my strongest skill.  I think even the goldfish applauded when that infamous nesting instinct broke out and I actually VACUUMED while I was pregnant.  (Random aside: I worked for a vacuum cleaner company as an engineer and STILL can’t spell that word correctly on the first try.  True story.)

So if I have the opportunity to pawn some of the housework off on the unsuspecting and oh-so-willing toddler?  I’m so totally in.  That I get to call it a “teachable moment” and “learning responsibility”? Icing on the cake.  The delicious, delicious, chores-for-other-people cake.

(Funny part: the parenting books all talk about “lowering your standards” and not redoing your child’s attempts if at all possible.  Ummmm – guys? If my standards got any lower the health department would put me on a reality show.  Kidding.   Kinda.)

So the Little Scientist has his chores – he unloads the dishwasher, sweeps the floor, and takes out the recycling.  And BOY will I be sad when the day comes he needs something more than applause and a “good job!” to motivate the work… Do you think I can teach him to do laundry before then?

0618121618_28

Sweeping noodles from scooping practice into the square. Then scattering them out again. Over and over and over.

0618121732_27

Aaaand sometimes we sweep with our feet. Whatever works dude.

0618124550

I never cease to be amazed at the random crap in my garage. But hey – look! Cute kid, recycling!!

Same day, different cutoff shirt. It's our summer theme this year.

Same day, different cutoff shirt. It’s our summer theme this year.

The iPPP ladies are much nicer to their kids than I am – they’re probably doing FUN stuff this summer. Check ‘em out!

GFunkified

4 Comments on “Chore time!!”

  1. I hate vacuuming too! Laundry is easy if Little Scientist can reach the washer! I started my kids on chores too a few years ago but they are all older than Little Scientist. I wish I had thought of it sooner! We do tie allowance to chores though. My kids won’t do it otherwise. (See, should have started them younger on chores!).

    • Ooooo – we’re in luck then, ’cause I have a front loading washer *maniacal scheming*…

      I’m not sure it would have made a difference with them being littler – I know we did chores from EARLY on growing up, and still needed the allowance motivation in our later years :)

  2. Greta says:

    Cut off shirts are THE cutest on little boys. I love seeing their tiny little guns. :D

    And I think you win the award for Best of EVERYTHING for teaching him to do this stuff. I mean, seriously, the sweeping square? GENIUS.

    (My standards really couldn’t get much lower either.)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 453 other followers