Not that kind of blog – recipe post (get your mind outta the gutter)

I know.  It’s not REALLY math.  I could futz with you and talk about measurements and all that jazz – but really, I just like this SUPER SIMPLE roast.  And when I cooked it for my dad last month he said it tasted like something from a restaurant.  Which is, quite possibly, the nicest thing anyone’s ever said about my cooking.

So.  With pictures, I bring you – Nerdmommathfun’s Salsa Pork Roast

You start with a jar of this. Sweet and smoky – I think I dated this rub in college. Only it was named Nate. And the rub part makes this comment more than a little creepy. Sorry.

You also need one of these. And I need a manicure. Ugh.

Several tablespoons of the rub go on and under the meat. You need more than you think you do. Honest. Notice the foil – that’ll be important in a minute. The blender, on the other hand will not. Unless you like kale smoothies. Nomnomnom.

The foil-wrapped meat and rub goes in the crockpot on high for 4 hours. And then on “warm” for as long as it takes you to get the kid down for a nap, fold a load of laundry, check twitter, and eat a bowl of soup standing up. (AKA warm until you can get to it.)

While the crockpot is on indefinite warm, chop up an onion and sautee it in a few tablespoons of olive oil. If you had a non-mushy green pepper, that is great here too. I very rarely have non-mushy green peppers.

Shred up the pork in its juices – most people would use two forks. I, on the other hand, used a chopstick and a baby fork. That’s how I roll. (Yes, I needed to do dishes – but that’s rude of you to point out.)

Dump one of these into the sauteeing onions. Yes, dump is a technical cooking term – again, don’t be rude.

Add the pork and juices to the salsa and onion – simmer for a half hour or more. If I’m feeling ambitious I use this to fill tamales. Usually I just serve it over rice and beans. Occasionally I eat it standing over the stove with a fork. Your call.

Enjoy :)

I linked up to the iPPP group this week – take a look at all the photo fantabulousness!

GFunkified
16 Comments on “Not that kind of blog – recipe post (get your mind outta the gutter)”

  1. mamamash says:

    Nice! I like this pork roast twist. And the little red crockpot is a workhorse. Mine is still chugging along!

  2. duckyh says:

    Its 8 in the morning and I’m already hungry for that. It looks FABULOUS!

  3. Yum, yum YUM!! One of my favorite ways to make pork. I have to admit, I have never made even pulled pork before moving here to South Carolina. Great pics- and I am jealous of that dinner.

  4. PragmaticMom says:

    What do you serve it with if you don’t make tamales? It sounds delish!

  5. gfunkified says:

    That looks so good. I have never heard of wrapping it in foil and then putting it in the crock pot! I do love my crock pot so much. It’s a sanity saver. And oh my goodness, the final result is making me salivate. (Also, you’re hilarious)

    • Thanks! It’s my mom’s old trick – lets the meat cook in its own juices & stuff. And thanks for swinging through; my family says I have my sarcasm font perpetually on, so I’m glad you got a giggle :)

  6. Mama Pants says:

    Oh man! That looks awesome! Totally just wrote this recipe down!

    Stopping by from #iPPP

  7. Tara says:

    That looks super yummy! And I love all the technical terms and ideas for what to do while I’m waiting on the crock pot. :)

  8. Alison says:

    I love your pictorial step-by-step.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 453 other followers